HANAMI LIFESTYLE

The start of spring means warmer and longer days, less wrapping up in scarves and hats, ice pops and cold drinks in the garden. It also brings the blooming of thousands of different flowers and trees. NATURE IS ALIVE!

I love plants. I love every kind of plant. Unless they are plants that happen to resemble scary things or that could kill me. But I love them.

Last week the cherry blossoms came out en mass in the city where I live. It was so beautiful seeing a sporadic tree in a garden or along a road. At my work we have a row of pink blossoming bushes; a beautiful entrance to work.

In Japan, the blossoming of the cherry trees is celebrated with a festival that moves across the country as the trees blossom. Viewing of the flowering trees is called hanami (はなみ or 花見) literally translating as hana for ‘flower’ and mi for ‘to look at’. The festival is usually celebrated with food and drink under the trees. It is a beautiful idea, and the dedication to celebrating natural beauty is an idea that should be shared around the world.

My friend is moving to Japan this week and I am so jealous that she will be there to experience this amazing festival. For now I have the trees of London to keep me company. Arigatou and sayounara you beautiful flowers, Jooosiekinsan XXX

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

